Tennis Ball Ballista -1 Wall – Nil

Once more a civilian told me that my machines would not be able to do something. And once again he was wrong, I was right. You can knock down a wall made of wooden bricks with tennis balls.

You just need to throw them hard enough and often enough. The sound of the wall coming down also wakes up the staff at the desk.

IMG_0034

The plans are yours for only $10USD. Just saying.

IMG_0035

A performance that will bring the house down (if you target a load bearing point.

IMG_0037

Know what the difference is between a mechanical engineer and civil engineer?

IMG_0038

The wall was actually shuted back quite away and holed several times before it went down. You can still see the curve from the dent.

Mechanical engineers build machines, civil engineers build targets for them. Someone else can rebuild the wall. Not my department.

10 Responses to Tennis Ball Ballista -1 Wall – Nil

  1. Leonidas says:

    As a civil in training, I have to say I’d be more impressed if you’d used a real brick wall with some mortar and rebar :)

  2. Murray says:

    For that particular target I’d use Mr Full Sized Treb and a 16lb bowling ball.

    Let me know when its ready.

  3. Leonidas says:

    It’s the big round one in Wellington they call the Beehive…. Do you know it?. :)

  4. Murray says:

    I refer you to an earlier request for a “get away truck” for a large trebuchet.

  5. Leonidas says:

    May I suggest more trebuchets would eliminate need for getaway?

  6. Murray says:

    You’re going to need a ballista battery for the soft targets that may flee.

    Its doable but we’re going to need a bigger crew.

  7. Leonidas says:

    need to be careful there, branding with a tennis ball may constitute assault…… On second thought, how can we up the cyclic rate?.

  8. Murray says:

    Tennis balls???? Honking big bolts for this op, I dind;t walk all this way to take prisoners.

  9. [...] I believe beer helps this research process at the “what the hell am I doing” end of the scale. While I don’t believe in the something for nothing principle I’m happy to give anyone who donates anything a copy of my tennis ball ballista plan. which you can view here and here. [...]

  10. [...] I believe beer helps this research process at the “what the hell am I doing” end of the scale. While I don’t believe in the something for nothing principle I’m happy to give anyone who donates anything a copy of my tennis ball ballista plan. which you can view here and here. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

