Need wood.

Ok I have a serious need for a great ammount of wood. Aside from the 100X100 timbers needed for a new wheeled trebuchet I need a pile of wooden “bricks”. So if you live in this sort of area:

and you have any 4X2 scraps I’m willing to come and get them, just let me know . Anything over 200 mm long can be used. And if you are feeling flush and want to see a wheeled trebuchet knock down a small castle then likewise drop me a line. It will look something like this next to Katie as a comparison.

8 Responses to Need wood.

  1. Madeleine says:

    Do you take your trebuchet’s on tour? Like to Auckland….

    My son’s would so love them!

  2. Madeleine says:

    How did I get a photo to come up?

    And how did that photo come up? That’s not the one I use of me….

    Freaky!

  3. Murray says:

    Well that would be the photo you used for your wordpress profile. Which as we all know is actually your daughters picture that you pretend is yours or some such bizare conspiracy theory.

    The nearest I’ll be getting to Auckland is Taupo Jan 31st Feb 1st. This is what I’m gathering wood for. Or more to the point what I’m trying to gather wood and sponsorship for. At our current rate of response we wont be going anywhere.

  4. krm says:

    Oh, that kind of wood. I was initially sort of afraid to read this post.

  5. Murray says:

    Theres always one.

  6. For those of us who are metrically challenged, I gather that “100×100” means 100 millimeters by 100 millimeters, or in other words what we Americans call a four-by-four?

  7. Murray says:

    Yes, the primary building material of the 1/2 scale catapult. Standard fencepost dimension.

    We actually talk in both systems at the timber yard.

  8. Errol says:

    We actually talk in both systems at the timber yard.

    Or indeed in the same blog post – 4 x 2 is of course four by two (inches). I noticed the same thing in ‘Not a Good Day to Die’ – metres and klicks for horizontal distances, feet for vertical.

Leave a Reply

