Bad weather and bang sticks birthday weekend.

mbp

Some of the Wellington Rifles chaps going bang… also twang and sometimes pop.

For the last time, it’s not my fault. I was born when I was born and my signature event the WMD happens on the weekend closest to that day. You want to blame someone take it up with my father.

So anyway a weekend of severe weather warnings, gale force winds and a water table that was evidently about 2 inches ABOVE ground level meant nothing to the harder elements of the New Zealand re-enactment community. Which is basically me and the Wellington Rifles and to be entirely technical having served in 7WnHB I AM a Wellington Rifle so, thurrrrpt to everyone else who stayed in bed that weekend.

And the prize for tough tentage goes to 22AD with their rendition of the Roman army campaigning in winter. Or: Ancient Stupidty I Have Done. I spent three days and two nights in Camp Marius and the tent never showed any sign of moving while the last two very expensive medieval tentsd left in the field got airborne. My academic observation at this point would be that if the Romans had invented gumboots they’d still be masters of the world.

But I’m not sure that the world is ready for an Emperor Marius Dagg.

8 Responses to Bad weather and bang sticks birthday weekend.

  1. Errol says:

    I thought (having seen some other photos) that it was specifically NOT a moat! 🙂

    Well done, hope to visit the site before too long.

  2. Murray says:

    When you can get 3,000 pounds from the government for “cleaning” it it most specifically IS a moat.

  3. I don’t blame that lady for flinching. What’s that musket doing firing off a fireball straight up like that?

  4. Murray says:

    Flintlock. Thats what they do Steven. After any Napoleonic battle everyones face is covered in burnt powder.

    Cept the cavalry. They remained spotless because their arses were further from the ground and they used swords on the very rare occasions they could be spared their looking pretty duties to actually take part.

  5. Re cavalry: I dunno. They make good targets, don’t they?

  6. Murray says:

    We lend dignity to what would otherwise be an unsightly brawl thank you.

  7. Old Fat Sailor says:

    Do Battle, on the land? How droll.

  8. Murray says:

    I beleive the water table was high enough to class operations as “amphibious”.

Leave a Reply

